• Online Resources

  • MFVA Workshops

News & Upcoming Events

Maine Film Bill LD 1004 Needs Your Support!


There is a truly promising bill: LD 1004, that, once funded will have a real impact on creating incentives for new production in Maine. It is a real jobs creation bill. It also provides significant support for local film companies by increasing the reimbursement rate to 25% paid to production companies for “below-the-line” wages paid to Maine film workers. And the minimum budget to qualify is just $30,000.

LD 1004 has passed both houses of the Maine Legislature and is currently being negotiated in the Budget hearings.

Once it gets through it will be sent to the Appropriations Committee that will determine budget priorities.

We need to contact members of this Committee to let them know why we support LD 1004. See below for more details how you can make a difference.


• LD 1004 is more than a bill to support the Maine film industry. The economic multiplier effect will support Maine’s economy as a whole. Businesses that could be supported include: lumber yards and hardware stores; car rental and other transportation businesses; hotels and restaurants; medical and insurance providers; grocery stores; catering businesses; pharmacies; and many more.

• Many film workers live here and work elsewhere. This bill would create more jobs for people who can live AND work in Maine.

• Students who study film, video, and new media in Maine can find work in their home state. This is a jobs creation bill for young people.

• This is also a jobs training bill. Young people can get experience at home, network with professionals in the industry, and build their resumes.


Contact your Legislator and Appropriations Committee Members:

Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs

Senator James Hamper (R-Oxford), Chair  senatorhamp@gmail.com
Senator Roger Katz (R-Kennebec) Roger.Katz@legislature.maine.gov
Senator Linda Valentino (D-York)  senatorvalentino@gmail.com
Representative Margaret Rotundo (D-Lewiston), Chair Margaret.Rotundo@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Aaron M. Frey (D-Bangor) Aaron.Frey@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Gay Grant (D-Gardiner) Gay.Grant@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Erik C. Jorgensen (D-Portland) Erik.Jorgensen@legislature.maine.gov
Representative John Martin (D-Eagle Lake) John.Martin@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Robert Nutting (R-Oakland) Bob.Nutting@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Linda F. Sanborn (D-Gorham) Linda.Sanborn@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Heather Sirocki (R-Scarborough) Heather.Sirocki@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Jeffrey Timberlake (R-Turner) Jeffrey.Timberlake@legislature.maine.gov
Representative Tom J. Winsor (R-Norway) Tom.Winsor@legislature.maine.gov


Maine Outdoor Film Festival Short Film/Video Contest!

Maine Outdoor Film Fest banner

Maine Outdoor Film Festival’s Broke and Stoked short film/video contest

Deadline: 08-01-2015

Here are the rules:
1. Videos submitted must be made by a Maine resident, or Maine residents, not working full time in Film.
2. Videos must less than 4 minutes long (3:59 is cool. 4:00 is not).
3. All music used in the must be credited and used with permission (No TOOL you tools … unless TOOL gave you permission, then it’s cool).
4. Films must be submitted via VIMEO link by emailing to the address at BROKEANDSTOKED.com before August 1, 2015.

The MOFF jury will select its favorite 10 films which will be screened at MOFF Tour Stops throughout Maine in Summer/Fall 2015, after which MOFF Tour attendees will vote on their favorite. The film with the most audience votes will be announced at the MOFF AWARDS SHOW in Portland in December 2015.


10 Finalists will win an Outdoor Gear Prize Pack
One Grand Winner of $1000.

Email your Vimeo Link to: maineoutdoorfilm@gmail.com


Maine International Film Festival (MIFF) July 10-19, 2015

Maine International Film Festival (MIFF)

The 18th annual Maine International Film Festival, July 10-19, 2015 in Waterville, Maine

Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 9.53.25 AM

For more details on MIFF events and screenings go to: www.miff.org

Please submit any questions via email to info@miff.org. Continue Reading